Adventures in the Mediterranean

Almost 24 hours and three time changes later, my dad, grandparents, and I are finally home!  While travel days aren’t my favorite- and make for incredibly long periods of time without sleep- I had such a great time exploring Spain, Corsica, Sardinia, France, and Italy.

We took the metro to see the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, we spent a day on a catamaran off the coast of Palma de Mallorca, walked up a steep hill to see a castle in Cannes, explored several old cathedrals in Ajaccio, Corsica, and walked around the ancient ruins of Nora in Sardinia.

After last week, now more than ever I am convinced that I will someday call one of these places home.  For those of you who don’t know, it has been a dream of mine for several years now to emigrate to London after college to begin my career, and, while I’m sure the picturesque panoramas we were seeing while off the cruise ship were tainted with a certain level of ‘disneyfication’, I cannot wait to hopefully call one of these places home and to take part of their cultures and blend them with my own.

And, while maybe not directly related, our experiences off the beaten path reminded me even more of the collegiate journey I’m about to embark upon.  Traveling for me, always seems to be accompanied by an almost spiritual feeling; I’m reminded even more of the person I want to be just by the life-changing experiences I’ve already been able to take part in.

I never would have pictured myself navigating the Barcelona metro, for example, and taking chances in totally different places, almost all on my own.  And, it’s in this way that I draw parallels with the next four years to come at Miami of Ohio; my own sense of self will continue to be warped, molded, and challenged as I continue grow in a setting that will force me to be more independent than I’ve ever been before…and even though this is daunting, I’ve never felt more ready.

While I may not have all the answers to this existential understanding and reflection that I’ve been experiencing ever since graduation last May, I feel more prepared than ever to go headfirst into the unknown, try new things, and work toward my best, most accepting, most tolerant, most easy going self, just as I feel I’ve been able to do during my week in Europe, both through doing my best to participate in new cultures and totally immerse myself in them.  And I’m so thankful of trips like these to continually remind me of the life that I want and the ‘I’ that must go along with it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

