London Trip- Day 7. “Yer a londoner, Mady!”

Yesterday we visited Westminster Abbey and the Warner Brother Studios for a tour of the sets, costumes, and props used in the Harry Potter movies!

We weren’t allowed to take any pictures inside Westminster Abbey, but the church was gorgeous!  There were hundreds and hundreds of carved statues all around.  My favorite part was at the end of the tour, when we visited “Poets Corner” that honored some incredibly famous writers.  I found small plaques for Jane Austen and the Brontë sisters, as well as a large shrine for William Shakespeare (and many more- those were just my favorites).

We walked around (admittedly lost for a while) and managed to at least get some cool shots from the outside of the buildings and in the garden areas.

After that, we went to the Warner Brothers Studios.  We successfully found our trains (with only one delay on the way back) and made it to the studios on time for our tour.  We walked through the studios for about 3.5 hours.  We saw Dumbledore’s office, the Gryffindor common room, the Knightbus, Number 4 Privet Drive, and many more.  I saw an exhibition of special effects and even got to try it myself!

See it here!

There were so many fun things to experience and do there, I don’t know if I could pick a favorite.  I think the highlights in my opinion, were definitely the detail and thoughtfulness added to each one of the props, costumes, and ‘rooms’.  Using the digital guides that were offered, I learned so much about the construction and creativity that went into making all of those movies.  The behind the scenes opportunities were really special.

Additionally, I really loved the intricate model of the Hogwarts castle and properties that they had built.  It was HUGE and made completely by hand!  I don’t think the pictures I’m including could possibly do it justice, so you’ll just have to trust me when I say that it was quite a sight.

Overall, though a long day, it was definitely a great one.  Later on today you’ll be getting another blog post- a total of two for today, as promised!

 

Leave a Reply

