London Trip- Day 6. I wish shopping could be a career.

Traveling

Today was a more relaxed day, as we stayed in the city and explored the various famous department stores and markets around here.  We visited Harrods, Selfridge’s, Debenham, John Lewis, and the Covent Garden Market.

Never in my life have I seen department stores as big or imposing as Harrods and Selfridge’s.  Not only did I get a self-conscious sense that the store workers could tell solely by looking at me that I couldn’t afford their 5,000 pound prom dresses, but I got lost quite a few times in the labyrinth that is ‘womenswear’.

While today I was unsuccessful in finding a prom dress, Mom and I had a great time at Selfridge’s- a store she was determined to visit because she watches the TV show.  We found a lovely little cafe on the bottom floor of the store called Dolly’s, where mom enjoyed ice cream and I had a chocolate chip cookie and mint tea.  (I told you afternoon tea has become one of my favorite traditions during my stay in London!)

Next, we made our way to the Covent Garden Market, where we ate a nice lunch; I ordered a grilled chicken caesar salad, and mom ordered chicken wings, but we ended up switching meals before the end of our time there.

The Covent Garden Market was bursting with street performers, homemade art, and fancy stores all mixed together.  We bought several small trinkets and enjoyed taking pictures with the performers- we even got a video of Elsa saying ‘hello’ to Katie (who is maybe her biggest fan?)!

Overall it was a really nice day, and I enjoyed the chance to sleep in a little later.  Tomorrow we head to the Warner Brother Studios, for a behind the scenes tour of some Harry Potter sets!

Leave a Reply

