London Trip- Day 4. Two peas in a…London Eye-pod?!

mady laughing

Today I got to spend time doing very nerdy things with my friend Inès, from Strasbourg.  I had such a great time with her and am so lucky that she was able to make the long trip from Strasbourg to London.

 

As the title of this post says, we began by meeting at the London Eye (though beforehand, mom and I got distracted by Big Ben).  It was a really great way to see the city- it seemed to expand in every direction!  Surprisingly and unlike many other ferris wheels I’ve been on (I hope it isn’t blasphemy to compare THE London Eye to a normal ferris wheel?), this one moved very. very. slowly.  Something I wasn’t expecting, but I think gave me better value for the ticket price and a more complete view of the city.  It was definitely a one-of-a-kind experience!

After that, we took the tubes to Charing Cross Road where, not only were there nice bookshops, but I found the plaque commemorating 84 Charing Cross Road- YES!  From the book!  It was so cool!  Being the bookworms that we are, Inès and I picked out books for each other to read, then one to read together.

  • For Inès: Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger
  • For Mady: The A.B.C. Murders by Agatha Christie
  • To read together: The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

Lastly, Inès and I enjoyed the Sherlock Holmes museum on Baker Street.  This museum was basically an old style home- replicating the 221B that Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson would have lived in.  We saw various study areas, Sherlock’s bedroom, as well as exhibitions of ‘souvenirs’ Sherlock had gathered from the cases he solved, and wax statues of the criminals he had caught.  With all the staff dressed in the style of that time period, it was like stepping into history and the Baker Street I have always imagined through the eyes of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

It was so nice to see a my friend!  I had such a great time today and got lots of pictures to commemorate it!

 

Leave a Reply

